|(a) The Texas Board of Nursing has established reasonable and necessary fees for the administration of its functions.|
|(3) Licensure renewal (each biennium): (A) Registered Nurse (RN): (B) Licensed Vocational Nurse (LVN):||A) $68 B.) $45|
- 1 How far in advance can you renew your Texas nursing license?
- 2 Is there a grace period for expired nursing license in Texas?
- 3 How many CEUS do I need to renew my RN license in Texas?
- 4 How do I renew my Texas RN license for the first time?
- 5 How many CE Do you need to renew RN license?
- 6 How do I reactivate my Texas nursing license?
- 7 Does BLS count as CEU for RN?
- 8 How many CE hours do nurses need?
- 9 What is a Texas Board of Nursing blue card?
- 10 How do I keep my nursing license active when not working?
How far in advance can you renew your Texas nursing license?
All applicants and licensees can apply for an initial license or renew a license 60 days prior to their expiration date. The system requires applicants to register and create an account with the Board through the Texas Nurse Portal.
Is there a grace period for expired nursing license in Texas?
If you’ve submitted your renewal application by the last day of the month that your nursing license is set to expire, you have a grace period of one month. In addition to the typical charges for a license renewal, you’ll also pay a late fee for reactivating from delinquent status.
How many CEUS do I need to renew my RN license in Texas?
According to the Texas Board of Nursing License Renewal CEU Requirements, RNs are required to complete 20 contact hours every two years in their area of practice.
How do I renew my Texas RN license for the first time?
Nurses must attest to completing a minimum of twenty (20) contact hours prior to renewing their license. First time licensees by examination and endorsement are exempt from this requirement upon their first renewal. Do not mail any certificates to the Texas Board of Nursing (BON).
How many CE Do you need to renew RN license?
Licensed Practical Nurses, Registered Nurses, and Advanced Practice Registered Nurses are required to complete 24 hours of appropriate CE during each renewal period, including two (2) hours relating to prevention of medical errors, two (2) hours in Laws and Rules in Nursing, (2) hours in Human Trafficking, and (2)
How do I reactivate my Texas nursing license?
Go to https://www.bon.texas.gov/licensure_renewal.asp and scroll to the very bottom of the web page to the Reactivation Renewal section of the page. Click on the appropriate Reactivation application according to the type of license you are trying to reactivate.
Does BLS count as CEU for RN?
Basic CPR for healthcare professionals does not count for continuing education credit even if the provider issues certificates.
How many CE hours do nurses need?
In the State of California, Registered nurses are required by law (California Code of Regulations, Section 1451, Article 5) to complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years, in addition to paying the renewal fee, to maintain an active license.
What is a Texas Board of Nursing blue card?
Blue cards are only mailed to individuals whose CBC was clear. If you submitted a D.O. then you will receive an Operations outcome letter.
How do I keep my nursing license active when not working?
Continuing education credits can be obtained through online courses; select journal articles; online events such as webinars and virtual conferences; and live events, whether just a few hours or several days in length. Consider doing some form of community service throughout your time away from employment.