Commercial Driver License (CDL) Fees:
|Original||$25||Expires 180 days from issuance|
|Renewal||$25||Must be renewed prior to expiration date|
|Motorcycle with CDL|
|New—add this to CDL fee||$15||Expires when CDL expires (depends on age; see CDL section)|
- 1 Can I renew my Texas Class A CDL online?
- 2 How much does a CDL license cost in Texas?
- 3 What do I need to renew my CDL?
- 4 What happens if your CDL expires?
- 5 How long is a CDL valid for in Texas?
- 6 Do you have to take a vision test to renew your license in Texas?
- 7 How much does the CDL cost?
- 8 What is a Class A CDL in Texas?
- 9 Can a felon get a CDL in Texas?
- 10 Do you need your birth certificate to renew your CDL license?
- 11 Is there a grace period for expired CDL drivers license in Texas?
- 12 Where do I send my DOT physical in Texas?
Can I renew my Texas Class A CDL online?
Can I renew my CDL online? No. If you are the holder of a CDL and need to renew, you will need to visit your nearest driver license office location.
How much does a CDL license cost in Texas?
Fees For Getting Your CDL In Texas: Standard CDL Age 18 to 84 (new or renewal) – $61 (Valid for 5 years) Standard CDL Age 85 and older (new or renewal) – $26 (expires after 2 years (on your birthday)
What do I need to renew my CDL?
How to renew a CDL
- a completed MV-44 form.
- your Medical Examiner’s Certificate, Form MCSA-5876, (if applicable)
- a completed Vision Test Report (MV-619) if your Medical Examiner’s Certificate is more than one year old.
What happens if your CDL expires?
You will face fines, fees and penalties on your license and could even have it revoked. If you are pulled over with an expired license, you could face a traffic ticket, and a steep fine.
How long is a CDL valid for in Texas?
Texas CDLs must be renewed every 5 years. To maintain a CDL, you need a yearly physical exam to make sure you’re healthy enough to drive a commercial vehicle safely. You’ll also need to submit for drug and alcohol testing according to DOT/FMCSA rules.
Do you have to take a vision test to renew your license in Texas?
Vision test: Required at in-person renewal. Applicants who may need to be assessed more accurately or whose eyesight is less than 20/70 with correction or 20/40 without correction will be directed to be examined by an outside vision specialist, who must complete an Eye Specialist form.
How much does the CDL cost?
Truck driving school costs and CDL fees will vary based upon the school you choose and where you live, but the total cost typically falls somewhere between $3,000 and $10,000.
What is a Class A CDL in Texas?
Class A – Permits the holder to operate any combination of vehicles with a gross combination weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more, provided the gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of the vehicle or vehicles towed exceeds 10,000 pounds.
Can a felon get a CDL in Texas?
In Texas, for example, if you have ever been convicted of using a motor vehicle to commit a felony, you will be banned from holding a CDL for life.
Do you need your birth certificate to renew your CDL license?
You now must bring one of the following to prove citizenship or lawful presence: Certified copy of U.S. birth certificate. Valid U.S. passport. Certificate of Naturalization and/or Citizenship.
Is there a grace period for expired CDL drivers license in Texas?
Greg Abbott waived expiration dates for driver’s licenses in March and that extension remains in effect. Those expired cards, “will remain valid for 60 days after which time DPS issues a public notice that the extension period for the disaster declaration has been lifted,” according to DPS officials.
Where do I send my DOT physical in Texas?
Any driver with an updated certificate can submit it to DPS via email at [email protected] or by fax at (512) 424-2002.